Saturn Awards: Best Makeup

The Saturn Awards

The Saturn Awards are awarded by the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Films. The first best makeup award was to Dick Smith for The Exorcist in 1973.

Previous Saturn Awards

2019–Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker
Amanda Knight & Neal Scanlan.

2018–Avengers: Endgame
John Blake & Brian Sipe.

2017–Black Panther
Joel Harlow & Ken Diaz.

2016–Star Trek Beyond
Monica Huppert & Joel Harlow.

2015–Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens
Neal Scanlan.

2014–Guardians of the Galaxy
David White & Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou.

Donald Mowat.

2012–Cloud Atlas
Heike Merker, Daniel Parker & Jeremy Woodhead.

2011–X-Men: First Class
Dave Elsey, Fran Needham & Conor O’Sullivan.

2010–The Wolf Man
Rick Baker & Dave Elsey.

2009–Star Trek
Barney Burman, Mindy Hall & Joel Harlow.

2008–The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Greg Cannom.

2007–Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End
Ve Neill & Martin Samuel.

Todd Masters & Dan Rebert.

2005–The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe
Howard Berger, Greg Nicotero & Nikki Gooley.

Jake Garber, Matt Rose & Mike Elizalde.

2003–The Lord of the Rings: The Return Of The King
Richard Taylor and Peter King

2002–The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers
Peter Owen & Peter King

Greg Cannom and Wesley Wofford

2000–How The Grinch Stole Christmas
Rick Baker and Gail Ryan

1999–The Mummy
Nick Dudman and Aileen Seaton

1998–John Carpenter’s Vampires
Robert Kurtzman, Greg Nicotero and Howard Berger

Roick Lazzarini and Gordon Smith

1996–The Nutty Professor
Rick Baker and David Leroy Anderson

Jean Black and Rob Bottin

1994–Interview with the Vampire
Rick Baker and Ve Neill

1993–Addams Family Values
Kevin Haney

1992–Batman Returns
Stan Wilson and Ve Neill

1991–The Silence of the Lambs
Carl Fullerton and Neal Martz

1989/90–Dick Tracy
John Caglione Jr, Doug Drexter and Cheri Minns

Ve Neill, Steve LaPorte and Robert Short

Rob Bottin and Stephen Dupuis

1986–The Fly
Chris Walas

1985–Day of the Dead
Tom Savini

1984–The Terminator
Stan Winston

1983–Return of the Jedi
Phil Tippet and Stuart Freeborn

Dorothy Pearl

1981–An American Werewolf in London
Rick Baker

1980–Altered States / Scanners (tied)
Dick Smith

1979–Love at First Bite
William Tuttle

1978–The Fury
William Tuttle and Rick Baker

1977–Star Wars
Rick Baker and Stuart Freeborn

1976–Logan’s Run
William Tuttle

1974/5–Young Frankenstein
William Tuttle

1973–The Exorcist
Dick Smith